Songs Explained: Denuo, Pt. 2

Since I have a little bit of Saturday free time, I’m dusting off my neglected, ghost town of a blog.  It’s been a while since I wrote on here, mostly due to two major projects I’ve been working on: the release of my five-song concept album “Left,” as well as a new full-length If You Will album, “Shallowness for Hire.”  They have been extremely rewarding pursuits, but ridiculously exhausting and time-consuming.  There are new websites up for both, which are worth checking out:

http://www.hewhonever.com

http://www.ifyouwill.net

Too often, I think artists are closed off about their subject matter.  I’ve decided that I don’t want to be, and what better place to explain my musings than in the vast expanse of the blogosphere?  This is the first in what will be a series of “Songs Explained,” in order of appearance on Left.

Denuo, Pt. 2 (Read lyrics HERE)

My Mom has always told me that people often spend their adulthoods getting over their childhoods.  This is something that has been particularly true for me, and I have made it a personal goal to cast off my skeletons as I enter my adult years.  As much as it is critical to focus on others and maintain a sense of selflessness, it is even more important to keep the self intact.  I am learning how to forgive myself, how to accept the stupid things I’ve done as necessary educational experiences, and how to leave my past at the door.  I cannot function adequately as a “giver” if I void myself entirely of love; I cannot look fondly upon a world of deserving people if I cannot face the mirror.

Of course, this is no easy undertaking, and that’s what Denuo, Pt. 2 was written about — the struggle to love myself and to let the past go.  If you look at the lyrics, the literal imagery depicts a man desperately burning a clock in an effort to destroy time.  But the extended metaphor explains that burning a clock cannot change what happened, it cannot solve your problems, and “the second stays the same.”  At the end of the song, the realization dawns that you just have to learn to cope.  Your past is there, it’s going to be there, and you have to mold your modern perspective to accept your history and move on.

A wise man once said, “Drop it like it’s hot.”

HWN


~ by hewhonever on February 20, 2010.

One Response to “Songs Explained: Denuo, Pt. 2”

  1. hahaha i laughed out loud at the Snoop Dogg quote!

Leave a Reply

 
